A little short story: For Me?

Here is something I did up for someone dear to me.  Hope you like it. Please let me know if you like.

For Me?

Tanya, a beautiful white swan, swam casually on the calm lake. Not always in the company of the other swans, Tanya liked to go her own way. She loved to go to the burbling pond on the other side of the lake because it was peaceful and many animals came there to drink. She loved to watch the other animals, wondering what their life was like.

Gliding effortlessly into the burbling pond, Tanya saw a duck, fish diving in the pond. Smiling and curious she moved towards the duck.

Hello, friend duck, you are wasting your time, there are no fish here.” Merrily she said.

Starring at her. the duck stopped, mesmerized by her beauty. Then quickly recovering. “Hello beautiful lady, there are, if you know where to look.”

No no, friend?????” She queried.

Jaime, my lady, and you?”

My name is Tanya. It is a pleasure to meet you. And you are teasing me Jaime, no?”

Would I tease such a beautiful swan?” Jaime asked innocently.

I think you would.” she giggled. Tanya thought, he is cute in a duck sort of way.

Yes, you are right. But truthfully, there are fish here if you look the right way.” With that Jaime, dove and in seconds came up with a small fish in his bill. Tossing the fish in the air towards Tanya.

Tanya caught the fish and with wide eyes. “That was incredible. And such a delicious small fish. Thank you Jaime.” She plunged into the water.

She came up, but with no fish. “Where are they? Are you tricking me? I did not see anything.”

Jaime laughed, “It takes time, my dear. You have to learn how to look and where to look.” He looked down, then dove. Coming up a few seconds later to flip another small fish to Tanya.

After swallowing the second delicious prize, “Will you show me how to do?”

Of course, it would be my pleasure.” Jaime cheerfully responded. “First you need to learn to see like a duck.”

See like a duck? How do ducks see?” She asked, honestly perplexed by his statement. Of course we see the same thing, right?

Look at that tree over there. The one that fell down. What do you see?” he asked.

Tanya looked at the tree. Of course it was a tree but she figured he wanted a different answer. She studied it for a minute and then smiling, said. “I see a tree. A home to many animals and bugs. I see the smaller birds and rabbits making homes in the wood or under it. I see insects crawling over it, termites eating it and mushrooms growing on it.” She finished feeling proud of her insight.

Wow, that was wonderful. I never thought of it that way. You truly have a different insight to the world.” He looked at her with admiration. “I am so happy I met you Tanya. You have taught me something today. Thank you.”

She smiled and blushed with his praise. Then tilted her head and gave him a look, “Okay now your turn Jaime. What do you see.”

A tree.” He said. Then she started to flap her wings in protest. He laughed and said, “Okay Okay, I was just teasing.”

She smiled. She was starting to like Jaime. He was not like the other swans or ducks that she met. He was funny. She shook her head then looked at him. “I am waiting.”

Clearing his throat, flapping his wings and then concentrating on the tree. Making a big show of things, in a comical way.

I see…. A sapling, small and delicate, stretching to get to the light. Slowly growing taller and stretching further and further from the ground. I see that young tree delighting in the squirrels and birds that rest on his branches. Being irritated by the rabbits that burrow under his roots but not overly, enjoying the little rabbits bounding over and under his base. I see that young tree grow older. Standing tall among its fellow trees. Feeling the breeze run through his branches. The sensual rains brush his leaves like the kiss of a lover’s gentle lips. I see an older tree, standing tall among his younger neighbors, enduring the cold of winter as he has done so many times before. Now blocking the ice cold winds from the sweet young trees around him. I see, now the wise old tree, despairing of another winter. Knowing his time is short on this wondrous earth.” Then quietly, “I see that great old tree, losing his fight to stay upright. Falling to the ground and hitting hard. Slowly, having his life drain away as the leaves and twigs flutter to the ground.”

That was beautiful.” Tanya said. She leaned over and nuzzled him with her bill and they floated there together, saying nothing and looking that the tree. Both seeing the tree in the way the other saw the tree. They stayed there until the sun started to go down.

I must go.” Tanya said.

I know, but I wish you would not.” Jaime whispered.

I will come again tomorrow.” Tanya promised and with another nuzzle she glided away.

Watching her glide away across the pond in the failing light. He whispered, “Could a swan love a duck.”

Published by

Jim

Living in Japan, the land of Anime, the Samurai, the ultra modern and extremely old. These contrasting themes fuel my worlds. Both the ancient and new meld together into worlds where super-powered school kids defeat evil; forest spirits help or fight humans; and giant, futuristic robots battle to save civilization. Where else to live for inspiration! A screenwriter and novelist living in the suburbs of Tokyo. A love of history, space and science in general and the beauty of life inspire his tales. He is currently writing an epic adventure trilogy about the downfall of Atlantis.

Leave a Reply

