It’s a Wall of Destruction Holiday

Have a 5 day break, thanks to the Golden Week holiday here in Japan. Will try to get my first draft of the movie script for Wall of Destruction completed during this period.  Might not succeed, still have about 80 pages of the book to go and a few new scenes to add, but it’s a goal to shoot for.

It seems the book has really changed and I will probably rewrite the book to conform more for the movie script.  I believe this would be important, with book two following the movie script flow. Might be a more difficult read to get into book two from the original Wall of Destruction.

Not only have I had to cut out many scenes but had to find ways to reveal internalized story parts for a visual medium. As I have heard many writers and authors across the net, a novel has the luxury of explaining a person’s thoughts or providing background but a movie does not.

Interestingly enough, I like writing in a script format. I think I will try to do the second story, in a script format, then go back and enhance scenes as I feel the need, for the book. Not sure I can do both at the same time, I think I would get bored of writing the same thing over and over. To write one, then later go back and write the other sounds better. Not sure, I will probably try both methods to see what works.

I also plan to start writing for my Sci-Fi universe, Worm Hole Earth. I left the story of Jana hanging and would like to get that out. I might actually try to do that as a movie script as well.

After all, these will never become movies if I don’t try. But if I do try… Unlikely things happen all the time.

Oh and the original, Wall of Destruction, book is free. So get it and let me know what you think. Plus if I remove it, you can at least say you have it.

For those in Japan, enjoy the holiday and so far good weather!

Published by

Jim

Living in Japan, the land of Anime, the Samurai, the ultra modern and extremely old. These contrasting themes fuel my worlds. Both the ancient and new meld together into worlds where super-powered school kids defeat evil; forest spirits help or fight humans; and giant, futuristic robots battle to save civilization. Where else to live for inspiration! A screenwriter and novelist living in the suburbs of Tokyo. A love of history, space and science in general and the beauty of life inspire his tales. He is currently writing an epic adventure trilogy about the downfall of Atlantis.

Leave a Reply

