From the Web: 4 Self Publishing Problems and their Solutions

An interesting article from Author’s Publish

This article, written by Chantelle Atkins, is pretty spot on. Self-publishing is easy but has a downside as well. It is hard to get in front of readers. Spending money on editing, cover art or marketing seem to be a wise choice, if you can afford it but none of that guarantees your book will sell.

From my research, it seems that having more than one book (preferably many) definitely can help your sales. I have seen quite a few authors say that they do not use social media for more than announcing their books. They prefer to keep writing and put out more books.

I would say I tend to agree with them. I believe it takes a long time to build a large social media network. Yes, you can buy 10,000 followers for this or that but none of them are known to be interested in what you write about. If they are not interested then they might disappear, literally, overnight.

My plan is to use this blog and some social media to help get the word out. I will not blog all the time but try to get something out weekly, if I can. I am also trying to convert my book into a movie script. I think that the story is unique enough and hopefully developed enough to make into a movie.  Check out other posts on my blog to see how that is going.

As a newbie writer, I have no success to show if my plan works. Will this work for you? or will it even work for me? Nothing is ever guaranteed in life, except that nothing is guaranteed. If you are starting to write, then I would suggest you look at Chantelle’s article. Hopefully it will not crush your dream, just keep you from dropping everything and thinking you can make it easily.

Published by

Jim

Living in Japan, the land of Anime, the Samurai, the ultra modern and extremely old. These contrasting themes fuel my worlds. Both the ancient and new meld together into worlds where super-powered school kids defeat evil; forest spirits help or fight humans; and giant, futuristic robots battle to save civilization. Where else to live for inspiration! A screenwriter and novelist living in the suburbs of Tokyo. A love of history, space and science in general and the beauty of life inspire his tales. He is currently writing an epic adventure trilogy about the downfall of Atlantis.

Leave a Reply

