Question, How many people prefer physical books?

Hello,

It seems quite a few people are ordering the paperback version.  I would like to know for follow up books, should I plan to do paperbacks or hard backs from the start?

My thinking is if this is something people would prefer, I would create for a physical copy from the beginning. There are differences in some of the organizing and additional material.

Please tell me what you think?

Published by

Jim

Living in Japan, the land of Anime, the Samurai, the ultra modern and extremely old. These contrasting themes fuel my worlds. Both the ancient and new meld together into worlds where super-powered school kids defeat evil; forest spirits help or fight humans; and giant, futuristic robots battle to save civilization. Where else to live for inspiration! A screenwriter and novelist living in the suburbs of Tokyo. A love of history, space and science in general and the beauty of life inspire his tales. He is currently writing an epic adventure trilogy about the downfall of Atlantis.

2 thoughts on “Question, How many people prefer physical books?”

  1. I read essentially on-screen, now, on Kindle and smartphone.But I do prefer reading on paper! I only buy paperbacks for books that I want to keep and (re)read.
    How many people read this way? Hard to say. But given the sheer amount of work in editing a physical book, I would go case by case for the time being: Start with an electronic version, see how the physical version demand evolves, and make estimates for batches.

    Like

  2. Usually, the books I LOVE I buy in hardcopies – these are my friends, sitting in my library behind the glass and sometimes I have a look and read piece or the whole one, depends on the ellapsed time.
    The e-books, I usually prefer for the development, studying, gathering professional information.
    The hard copy book is waiting for the evening reads before my sleep, the electronic books are transported through the city when I travel around for the business meetings or trips.

    Like

Leave a Reply

